the public record, side by side

atomoxetine vs guanfacine

Strattera and Intuniv, compared on what the public record actually supports: who takes each one, who pays, what the labels warn, and what the litigation record holds. Sources on every number.

What this page will not do is rank them. These drugs are in different classes and were tested for partly different things, so a single-axis ranking would be a category error. Which one fits you turns on your history, your other medications, and side-effect trade-offs — a prescriber conversation. This page arms that conversation; here are the questions worth taking into it →

atomoxetine (Strattera)

non-stimulant (ADHD)

FDA approval
year not stated in our verified record · full approval journey →
Who takes it (US, 2024)
948,465 patients · 4,208,253 prescriptions (ClinCalc/MEPS)2014 → 2024: up 64% (2,571,671 → 4,208,253 prescriptions)
Who pays (2024)
Medicare: 327,343 claims · 66,109 beneficiariesMedicaid: ≥1,651,014 prescriptionsCommercial claims: not published in any public dataset — a real absence, not a zero.
Boxed warning
Yes — on the current FDA label. read it in context →
Adverse-event reports (FAERS)
Caveat first: FAERS counts unverified REPORTS, not patients or rates — no denominator, and attention inflates reporting. Never compare these counts head-to-head; a longer-marketed, more-prescribed drug accumulates more reports by exposure alone. how to read FAERS →26,970 all-time reports; most-reported terms: drug ineffective, nausea, fatigue
Legal & safety record
no dedicated record page yet; the journey page carries label history

guanfacine (Intuniv)

non-stimulant (ADHD, alpha-2 agonist)

FDA approval
year not stated in our verified record · full approval journey →
Who takes it (US, 2024)
128,407 patients · 826,201 prescriptions (ClinCalc/MEPS)2014 → 2024: down 69% (2,630,262 → 826,201 prescriptions)
Who pays (2024)
Medicare: 252,004 claims · 46,955 beneficiariesMedicaid: ≥3,999,736 prescriptionsCommercial claims: not published in any public dataset — a real absence, not a zero.
Boxed warning
None on the current FDA label in our record.
Adverse-event reports (FAERS)
Caveat first: FAERS counts unverified REPORTS, not patients or rates — no denominator, and attention inflates reporting. Never compare these counts head-to-head; a longer-marketed, more-prescribed drug accumulates more reports by exposure alone. how to read FAERS →7,823 all-time reports; most-reported terms: drug ineffective, off label use, somnolence
Legal & safety record
no dedicated record page yet; the journey page carries label history

Where these numbers come from

  • Patients and prescriptions: ClinCalc DrugStats (federal MEPS survey), latest published year — counts of people filling prescriptions, not outcomes.
  • Medicare/Medicaid: CMS public datasets; commercial insurance publishes no per-drug series, so it renders as an absence, never a synthesized number.
  • Label facts: the drugs' current FDA labels via DailyMed — quoted in context on each drug's approval-journey page.
  • FAERS: openFDA — reports, never rates; the caveat travels above every count.
  • Litigation: court records and regulator documents only, on the linked record pages; settled is never adjudicated.

Explore both drugs in depth: /m/atomoxetine · /m/guanfacine · or the whole library →